18th Micronesian Presidents’ Summit held in Majuro

The 18th Micronesian Presidents’ Summit (MPS) was held in Majuro of the Republic of the
Marshall Islands on February 27, 2018 with two new additional members. The MPS is an annual
Summit of the Presidents of the Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of the Marshall Islands
and Republic of Palau but this year, the Republic of Nauru and Republic of Kiribati joined for the
first time.
The Summit is an annual event for the Micronesian Presidents to discuss issues of common
concern at the national, regional and international levels. The five Presidents signed the Delap
Joint Communique based on discussions by the Presidents on a whole range of issues such as air
space management and air services, regional maritime cooperation, regional vocational
cooperation on agriculture, trade, technology, and related issues. The Presidents also discussed
issues concerning climate change, and sustainable sea transport.
In his opening statement, President Peter M. Christian, thanked and welcomed President Baron
Waqa of Nauru and President Taneti Maamau of Kiribati to the Summit. President Christian
expressed appreciation for their participation. He indicated that the MPS has come full circle with
Kiribati and Nauru’s joining the 18th MPS for the first time in Majuro.
The President was accompanied by Foreign Affairs Secretary Lorin S. Robert, R&D Secretary Marion
Henry, Justice Secretary Joses Gallen, NORMA Executive Director Eugene Pangelinan, and other officials
from the national government. The next MPS will be hosted by Palau. A copy of the Delap Joint 
Communiqué is available on the FSMPIO Website: http://www.fsmpio.fm/ For more information, please
contact the Department of Foreign Affairs at (691) 320-2613/2641 or email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
© 2019 Department of Foreign Affairs. All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.